Great news!

This has been a GREAT week!!

First of all, I’d like to thank all of my prayer warriors who I know are praying for me every single day. It is not something I take for granted, and I know that I owe many of the blessings and graces given to me to y’all’s intercession.

“Again I say to you, if two of you agree on earth about anything they ask, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven.” —Matthew 18:19

Secondly, my FEV1 was up to 33.5% on Friday! My doctor said I am definitely defying expectations. After my collapsed lung episode, he was worried that my lungs may be on the decline, and we were even discussing getting on the double lung transplant list.

Thirdly, I am highly likely to be chosen for the 2015 Lourdes pilgrimage. The pilgrimage is sponsored by the Order of Malta and would be from April 29—May 6, and not to mention is all expenses paid! My interview went very well, and they will let me know some time after the feast of Our Lady of Lourdes (February 11) if I am one of their chosen Malades (literally French for “sick people”).

Fourthly, the trial coordinator from Houston called and told me that I am a prime candidate to get on the new combination drug for cystic fibrosis patients with 2 copies of the Δ F508 mutation. This is an overview of the trial:

“Repairing the defective protein in people with the F508del mutation is a particularly challenging and intricate process. In this mutation, a series of problems prevents the protein from reaching the surface of the cell. Lumacaftor is designed to move the F508del CFTR protein to the cell surface where Ivacaftor can improve its function and help increase the normal flow of salt and fluids in and out of the cell. Participants who took the combination treatment showed significant and consistent improvement in lung function and in other important health measures, including weight gain, and a reduction in the rate of pulmonary exacerbations.”

The trial should start at the end of February!

Fifthly, my niece Christiana Patricia Rain Edwards turned 5 on Thursday! She is growing up so fast!

Christiana

4 thoughts on “Great news!

Leave a Reply

