65 days

I was watching EWTN about a week ago and a priest on the Journey Home segment mentioned that there is a National Shrine of the Little Flower IN TEXAS. Believe it or not there is a Basilica and Shrine in San Antonio, TX dedicated to her! How did I not know about this sooner?

Here’s the website: http://www.littleflowerbasilica.org

I have been praying/talking to her a lot lately and just calculated that if you count from today (July 28th) all the way to her feast day (October 1st), there is a grand total of 65 days. This is a great (and perhaps supernatural) reminder that I need to do a better job of offering up all of the extra things I have to do every day regarding my CF. I need to make a daily devotion to her, and she will take my CF and give me sixty-five roses in return.

From late June until this past Thursday, I had my ninth PICC line. It was annoying that I even needed one, because it shows that my daily nebulizers, vest therapy, pills, and diet aren’t enough. But that’s just the progressive and aggressive nature of the CF beast.

The past month has been up and down health-wise but I have definitely spent too much time complaining to God and sulking, mainly for two reasons: because of my state of health I couldn’t go on vacation in Angel Fire, New Mexico with my family, and I probably won’t be returning to UD next semester.

I have to remind myself that my daily medical regimen as well as infusing antibiotics directly into my bloodstream to fight E. coli and other nasty bacteria is not “normal” – it is extra-ordinary and I should unite it all to the Cross.

I am going to make a prayer intentions list—something that will take the attention off of myself and onto the many, many people who could use my prayers. I’ll say these prayers every day for the next 65 days (and I’ll try and say them at Mass right after Communion—the closest to heaven that a person can get). If possible I also want to make a trip to the Little Flower Basilica and Shrine in San Antonio on her feast day.

If anyone would like for me to pray for anything in particular, please let me know!

St. Thérèse, the Little Flower, please pick me a rose from the heavenly garden and send it to me with a message of love; ask God to grant me the favor I thee implore and tell Him I will love Him each day more and more. Amen.

St. Thérèse, beloved friend, we come before you in our need. We believe that you listen to us and approach God for and with us. Please accept these petitions, hopes, needs, and dreams I list below. Please present them to our Loving Father so that God may do what is best for us, for our loved ones, and for the fulfillment of God’s Kingdom. We ask you, dear friend, with the bold confidence and loving surrender you taught us. We make this prayerful petition in the name of Jesus and through the power of His Spirit. Amen.

5 thoughts on “65 days

  1. Hi Daniel,

    What a beautiful thing! 65 days of prayer…and an offer to pray for anything we request. That’s so kind of you. I do have a request – to pray for the job/situation for Jacob that God wants for them. He is still seeking and we are all praying, but your prayers to St. Therese will help so much! THANK YOU!

    Aunt Sally

Leave a Reply

