Hallelujah, no more PICC line!

It’s become a family tradition to go hear Handel’s Messiah at the Meyerson around Christmas time, and we have tickets again this year. The entire piece is Scripture based, including Luke 2:13-14 which says, “And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying, ‘Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace among those with whom he is pleased!'” If you want to hear what a heavenly host sounds like in real life, I suggest you go to the Messiah. It’s perhaps most known for the Hallelujah chorus…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pel7uQbhv88

I had a personal “hallelujah” moment yesterday when I got to pull my PICC line. I had it since November 12th, and every 8 hours I would infuse antibiotics directly into my bloodstream. The long catheter goes up my arm and across my chest, and empties the medicine right above my heart. The medicine comes in little baseball shaped sacks, which take about 90 minutes to infuse. It’s out just in time for the last week of classes/finals and Christmas time, so hallelujah!

20131208-195940.jpg

20131208-200026.jpg

20131208-200036.jpg

20131208-200049.jpg

20131208-200101.jpg

Leave a Reply

